US Presidents in 1881

There were three Presidents in the year 1881.

The first was Rutherford B. Hayes. He was the 19th President of the United States, and he took office on March 4, 1877 and left office on March 4, 1881.

He was then followed by James A. Garfield, who was the 20th President, taking office on March 4, 1881 but assassinated on July 2, 1881.

Finally, on September 19, 1881, Chester A. Arthur took office. He was the 21st President, and he left office on March 4, 1885.


Find the President in another year

Browse other years:

<< 1880
1882 >>


View the President in 1839

United States Presidents

This app provides a quick way to look up the U.S. President for any year. There are some cases where multiple presidents were in office during a year, either due to an election or sometimes because of a resignation or assassination. Find your answers quickly for homework, research, or just to satisfy your curiosity!


© 2022  Who Was President

About   ·   Privacy   ·   Contact