US President in 1879

The President in the year 1879 was Rutherford B. Hayes.

He was the 19th President of the United States.

He took office on March 4, 1877 and left office on March 4, 1881.

He was followed by James A. Garfield.


Find the President in another year

Browse other years:

<< 1878
1880 >>


View the President in 2010

United States Presidents

This app provides a quick way to look up the U.S. President for any year. There are some cases where multiple presidents were in office during a year, either due to an election or sometimes because of a resignation or assassination. Find your answers quickly for homework, research, or just to satisfy your curiosity!


© 2021  Who Was President

About   ·   Privacy   ·   Contact