US Presidents in 1865

There were two Presidents in the year 1865.

The first was Abraham Lincoln. He was the 16th President of the United States. He took office on March 4, 1861 and was assassinated on April 14, 1865.

He was then followed by Andrew Johnson, who was the 17th President, taking office on April 15, 1865 and leaving office on March 4, 1869.


Find the President in another year

Browse other years:

<< 1864
1866 >>


View the President in 2003

United States Presidents

This app provides a quick way to look up the U.S. President for any year. There are some cases where multiple presidents were in office during a year, either due to an election or sometimes because of a resignation or assassination. Find your answers quickly for homework, research, or just to satisfy your curiosity!


© 2022  Who Was President

About   ·   Privacy   ·   Contact