US Presidents in 1861

There were two Presidents in the year 1861.

The first was James Buchanan. He was the 15th President of the United States. He took office on March 4, 1857 and left office on March 4, 1861.

He was then followed by Abraham Lincoln, who was the 16th President, taking office on March 4, 1861 but assassinated on April 14, 1865.


Find the President in another year

Browse other years:

<< 1860
1862 >>


View the President in 1860

United States Presidents

This app provides a quick way to look up the U.S. President for any year. There are some cases where multiple presidents were in office during a year, either due to an election or sometimes because of a resignation or assassination. Find your answers quickly for homework, research, or just to satisfy your curiosity!


© 2021  Who Was President

About   ·   Privacy   ·   Contact